"We are what we repeatedly do; Excellence is not an act, but a habit".  Aristotle



The John Marshall Harlan High School Alumni Association, NFP, is dedicated and committed to instilling school spirit by:

  • recognizing the accomplishments and achievements of the Harlan alumni
  • encouraging students to strive for excellence to secure Harlan's future place in the history of the community and city and
  • supporting student academic, athletic and social programs.


  • To reclaim our youth by cultivating a nurturing and supportive environment
  • renewing the connection between students and alumni by supporting student development, enhancing their academic preparation, and providing positive role models as examples of the result of an education at Harlan High School
  • maintaining a mutual relationship that influences the student body, community, faculty and staff of Harlan High School

Executive Board of Directors

The current Board of Directors were selected in December 2019 to serve and direct the JMHAA for calendar years 2020 - 2021.

Dr. Jamal R.A. RasheedClass of 1972
Dennis Hill
Dennis HillClass of 1975
Karl Avery
Karl AveryClass of 1970
Theresa OliveClass of 1971
Shawn Hawk
Shawn HawkClass of 1977
Brenda Bedingfield
Brenda BedingfieldClass of 1968
Membership Chair

Board Members

Jamal RasheedClass of 1972
Mike SowaClass of 1965
Ted MustifulClass of 1972
Floyd SimpsonClass of 1969
Joey ThurmanClass of 1977
Teresa OliveClass of 1971
Seronsa CharlesClass of 1979
Harold DavisClass of 1972
Charletta MattoxClass of 1969
Judith Grand Pre SmithClass of 1969
Harold JenkinsClass of 1972
Steven ClarkClass of 2009